Terrible Two’s

by rayandskye

Today was a difficult day with Skye. I’m lucky that these days are so far and few between, but I’m wondering if this is the start of the Terrible Two’s?

I’m partly trying to wean Skye from breastfeeding. Hopefully, by his second birthday he will be off the boob. Today he tried nursing for the millionth time and it wasn’t even 10 am yet. I told him no and that boobies went night night ( I can’t believe I talk like this sometimes) and he got so angry that he started to pick up all his trains and throw them on the ground and then he took my favorite book (Handcrafted Modern) and threw that on the the ground. He then threw himself onto the ground and started to hit his head. I just stood there in utter disbelief. Obviously the kid needed a moment. I on the other hand could have used a cocktail or at least another cup of coffee.

I know some kids fits last for a while and luckily his only lasted for a few minutes before I was able to distract him with something. I love that he needs me so much for comfort, but it is also very debilitating for me at the same time. Skye likes to comfort nurse which means he likes to use me as a pacifier and he wants to use me wherever we go. Seriously at this stage in the game the whole world has seen my boobs. There is no shame in my game anymore. I wish he would take a pacifier, but somewhere around his first birthday he started to refuse it and latched onto me for all of his comfort.

I actually called the La Leche League a few weeks ago to see if they could give me some advice about stopping, but I have yet to hear from anyone. They probably heard my message and deleted it because I want to stop breastfeeding not embrace it until he goes off to college (I’m joking).

I am hoping that Skye’s tantrum today isn’t the start of more to come. My little guy has always been so chill. I also know that this is just a moment in time and its not forever, but any advice on how to handle outbursts like this are more than welcome. I guess I’m just going to have to go with the flow and let him get his frustration out. Obviously he is having overwhelming feelings that he has no clue how to express and I know that has to be so difficult for him. I guess we’ll just have to ride it out and see what happens. Hopefully, not the Terrible Two’s.

