Homemade Soda

by rayandskye

A few years ago Zach’s mom bought him a Soda Stream for his birthday. I thought it was the dumbest thing ever. I was even more annoyed by it because where was I going to put it. Its huge and its ugly.  Fast forward two years ( I do a lot of fast forwarding on this blog) We have cabinets now! Woo Hoo we have storage for large ugly things like Soda Streams. So now I’m into the Soda Stream because I can make carbonated water and with sparkly fizzy water comes homemade soda mixtures. The first mixture I made last week was homemade Ginger Ale. Super super easy to make. Peel and cut into chunks a cups worth of ginger and pulse it in the food processor. Put the minced ginger in a pot and cover with two cups of water and bring to a simmer. Turn off the heat and let the ginger steep for at least an hour. I think I might go a little longer next time to let it get a bit more strong. Strain out the minced ginger and return the liquid to the pot I added a half cup of sugar, but the next time I’m only going to add a quarter cup. Bring back to a simmer and then turn off the heat and cool down. Now if you want to get all fancy you can add some chili peppers to the ginger during the first steeping or black peppercorns. Anything to give it a bite. So when the mixture cools make some fizzy water in the Soda Stream (or you can just buy fizzy water) mix in the amount of ginger syrup to your liking and Voila! Homemade Ginger Ale!!!

So now that I think I’m all amazing making homemade Ginger Ale I decided to make Blood Orange and Lemongrass soda. This is a really beautiful drink. It tastes and looks like summer

Cut up three stalks of lemongrass and pulse in the food processor. I didn’t get to pulse mine as much as I wanted because Skye was napping so you might want to pulse yours a bit smaller than mine. Then slice up two medium sized blood oranges. Put in a pot and cover with two and a half cups of water. Bring to a boil and then turn off the heat and put a lid on it. I covered mine for a little over two hours. Strain out the lemongrass/orange mixture into a bowl and then press on the fruit to get any remaining juice out. Put back on the stove top and add one quarter cup of sugar and bring back to a boil. Turn off the heat and let it cool off. I was thinking that the next time I make this mixture that I might add a vanilla bean to it and kind of make a fancy creamsicle type of soda.

I was pleasantly surprised by the taste of this mixture. Its almost flowery or perfumey. Probably because of the oils in the orange peel. If you have ever baked with orange blossum essence (I’ve found it at the Italian market in my neighborhood) it kind of tastes like that.

I’m going to try to come up with a few more ideas this weekend. Maybe something with pears…

I think that this Weck Juice Jar Set would be perfectly beautiful for holding soda mixtures too!

