Macrame

by rayandskye

A few years ago my sister Elissa and I were sitting on the train going to work. I noticed her oddly staring and scrutinizing my nose. Totally weirded out I asked her what she was looking at? She asked did you use to have your nose pierced? I said yes, remember when we were 19 years old. She said What kind of nose ring did you wear? In a hushed whisper I answered a Pot Leaf. There was silence and then her hysterical laughter engulfed the L train so loudly that I slouched down in my seat from sheer embarrassment. Yes, I use to wear a silver pot leaf nose ring in my right nostril. I also had grape purple hair down to my butt, wore blue Birkenstocks and worked at a Head Shop in Providence,RI doing hair wraps.

I cannot believe that I just admitted all of this…

Fast forward oh I don’t know a whole bunch of years and I’m walking through the aisles of Michaels Craft Store when I stumbled across this really cool yarn from Martha Stewart with the color name Mambo on sale for $2.49. I instantly thought WOW! this would make a really cool macrame plant holder for my bathroom. I swooped up four packages and came home to excitedly put my dormant macrame/hair wrap talents to good use.

I already had a glass globe and I had just found a bag of tiny white rocks stashed away in the back of a closet. I just needed a succulent, a ceiling hook and I was ready to go. I made it to hang a little over five feet long because I really wanted the globe to hang low. I adore how it came out. Zach on the other hand is a little freaked out by the fact that we now own a fuchsia macrame plant holder. I think he’ll get over it.

Its dreamy isn’t it?

