The Week

by rayandskye

Aggghhhhh! Why is it so hard to keep a blog going? I really wanted to use this blog as a catalyst for me to achieve my goals and to document bits and pieces of my life with Skye.  This week (every week) just flew by. Sometimes I barely have a moment to just sit and rest a minute. Having a 19 month old little boy is crazy to say the least. He definitely keeps me on my toes.

Amongst my list of goals was to shave my legs (this goal was in my head). Thats so embarrassing that I just said that aloud to the internet blogosphere world. Seriously it was bad, but with Valentines Day and a good friends wedding coming up this week I figured I ought to tackle the forest that was growing on my legs. Bring out the high heels I am chic again! Sort of…

I did hang the shelves that I keep on talking about. Zach helped me last weekend. They look really fantastic and I got to bring out a lot of my ceramics from storage including seven pieces from my sister and brother in laws line Kiln. I’ve had a lot of my stuff put away for such a long time because of Skye so its nice to see it out again.  I need to take a picture. I actually need to figure out how to use the new camera that we just boughtt.

I’m jam packing the whole week into one post so forgive me if I come across a little ADD.

Skye’s new bedroom got painted and we had carpet laid last weekend too. It looks so good! Now if we can only get him to sleep in there and not suctioned cupped to my boob all night. Any tips on weaning? Anyone??? We painted the room white and the carpet is called Storm Cloud which I think is perfect for someone named Skye. It is really great to have all his toys, books and stuffed animals all corralled into one room. We still have a lot of toys in the living room, but its not so overwhelming for me. I can’t believe how much more stuff we own now because of Skye and in such a short amount of time too.

I’ve been letting Skye walk a lot. I think he did about a mile yesterday. He had so much fun being a free little person and not strapped down in his stroller. And he fell asleep about an hour earlier than usual! I let him walk to the trolley today and then we rode it just for fun. Best $5 I’ve spent in a while. It made his day. Anything that makes this kid happy makes me happy.

So what did I do this week? I made a cool wood bead trivet that I saw on a great blog that I love called http://www.amerrymishapblog.com/ I love this blog! She has such great style and her son is adorable to boot! 

I got some gorgeous strawberries at the farmers market this weekend and made jam today. I don’t really follow a recipe I just cut up the strawberries throw in a cup of sugar and a squeeze or two of lemon. I simmer it until I can run my finger down the spoon and the syrup doesn’t ooze back together. Homemade jam is the best.

Okay, I think thats it for the week. Now that I see it typed out in front of me I definitely did accomplish a few things. Next up is tackling our closets. Thank goodness my Mom is coming into town this weekend!

